Home | Brady-Gallagher Memorial Award

The Daniel Brady-Richard Gallagher Memorial Award was established to memorialize two Devon Prep graduates, Daniel Brady ’64 and Richard Gallagher ’62, who died in the service of their country during the Vietnam War.

Daniel Brady’s Service

Daniel W. Brady served the U.S. Marines Corps. as a member of the 3rd Marine Division, 1st Battalion, 9th Marines, B Company.  During his service, Daniel earned the rank of Lance Corporal and held the military position of Rifleman. Daniel lost his life while serving his country July 2, 1967 in an ambush on Route 561 NE of Con Thien, South Vietnam, Quang Tri Province.  Battle ensued and lasted a week until enemy forces withdrew when the 3rd Battalion, 9th Marines arrived with U.S. air and artillery support. 


Richard Gallagher’s Service

Richard Gallagher ‘62 served the U.S. Marine Corps. as a member of the 1st Marine Division, 3rd Battalion, 1st Marines, H S Company.  During his service, Richard earned the rank of Lance Corporal and held the position of wireman and telephone operator.  Richard lost his life while serving his country March 8, 1968 in Quang Tri Province during Operation Lancaster II due to an explosion.


About the Brady-Gallagher Award

Presented every year at graduation, this award is given to a select graduate who embodies and reflects the virtues of leadership and ability, patriotism and love of God and country, charity, and the spirit of the Devon Prep community. Established first by Paul Sanborn ’64, faculty member Martin Bowen and a committee of alumni established a memorial in the Devon Prep chapel in 1984 and the award has been given out ever since.

List of Brady-Gallagher Award Recipients

Award RecipientYearAward RecipientYear
Richard Horsell1984Stephen Farias2003
Peter Vieire1985Justin Polselli2004
Richard Bannister1986Robert Reish Jr.2005
Brian McCormick1987Nicholas Quintiliani2006
John Yaeckel1988Andrew Zaleski2007
Niels Christensen1989David Evans III2008
Filemon Gemil1990Patrick Mannion2009
John Dolan1991Stephen Chase2010
Andrew Kreider19922011
Michael Sheffield1993Ben Senss2012
Patrick Eggen1994John Kane2013
Ernest Anastasi1995Sean Bevan2014
Joseph D’Orazio1996Andrew Dawson2015
Gerard Olinger1997Bobby Pickell2016
Michael English1998John Marquis, Kevin Holmes2017
Philip Sevag1999Brandon Hoang2018
Thomas Toole III2000Chris Muth2019
Brian Beck2001John Pepe2020
Kevin Mulholland2002Joseph Scavito2021
Ethan Grotell2022