Meet Devon Prep’s Class of 2016

CLASS of 2016

Devon Prep’s Class of 2016 includes AP Scholars, musicians, actors, artists, Eagle Scouts, athletes, and more. They live in Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery Counties and will attend colleges all over the US. Thirteen of the graduates are members of Devon Prep’s Seven Year Club, having attended the school since the sixth grade.

Collectively the 50 members of Devon’ s 57th graduating class earned over $9.3 million in college scholarships. In addition they received more than 200 acceptances to 83 colleges and universities, including Cambridge, Cornell, Georgetown, Lehigh, Case Western Reserve, Duke, Northwestern, Purdue, Fordham, Drexel, Temple and Penn State.

Nearly half (23) of Devon Prep’s Class of 2016 are AP Scholars. Two (Brian Damerau and Shyamal Patel) are National AP Scholars.  Eleven are AP Scholars with Distinction. The National Merit Scholarship Program recognized 11 graduates, five as Commended Students, three as Finalists and two as Scholarship Winners (Brian Damerau and Grant McKnight).  Six of these young men are Eagle Scouts, and five will go on to participate in collegiate athletics at Division I and Division III schools.

In addition, this senior class performed over DEVON VAL (5)1500 hours of community service doing such things as collecting and distributing food and clothing to needy families and raising more than $25,000 for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

Three members of the class served as Valedictorians at the graduation,  Alexandru Damian , Sean Fulmer and Shyamal Patel.  All three are AP Scholars with Distinction, and Shyamal is also a National AP Scholar.  Alexandru and Shyamal are National Merit Scholarship Program Finalists, and Sean is a Commended Student. Alexandru will attend Duke University in the fall.  Sean plans to attend Georgetown University, and Shyamal will attend Georgia Institute of Technology.



Below are the members of Devon Prep’s Class of 2016 and their college choices:

Class of 2016 ad

Connor J. Balog of Newtown Square – Temple University
Andrew J. Barella of Lansdale – LeMoyne College (Honors)
Holden E. Barnes of West Chester – Boston College
Andrew R. Betts of Wayne – West Virginia University
Matthew J. Bevilacqua of West Chester – Lehigh University
Andrew D. Bonini of Bryn Mawr – Ursinus College
Daniel W. Brace of Berwyn – Gettysburg College
Dean A. Brekus of Broomall – St. Joseph’s University
Alexander S. Bygrave of Morgantown – Dickinson College
Christopher B. Carpenter of Newtown Square – Boston College (Honors)
Harpreet Cheema of Upper Darby – Drexel University
Scott O. Clancy of Berwyn – Loyola University of Chicago
Joseph T. Conroy of Media – Temple University (Honors)
Tanner J. Daggett of Phoenixville – Randolph Macon College
Brian E. Damerau of West Chester – Georgetown University
Alexandru Damian of Norristown – Duke University
Connor J. DeFaber-Schumacher of Chester Springs – Ursinus College
Zachary M. Delphais of West Chester – Temple University
Nicholas A. DeMarco of Broomall – Villanova University
Vincent J. Finley of Downingtown – Loyola University Maryland
Sean A. Fulmer of West Chester – Georgetown University
Patrick T. Gallagher of Exton – Temple University
Anthony W. Gallo of Newtown Square – Lehigh University
H. Thomas M. Gies of Spring City – Franciscan University
Joseph F. Heater of Downingtown – Loyola University Maryland
Justin F. Hennessy of Paoli – University of Virginia
Matthew T. Kelly of Exton – Boston College
Anthony L. Lambright of Conshohocken – Penn State University
Joshua Y. Lee of Royersford – Boston University
Michael A. Love of Exton – Penn State University
Stefan P. MacLachlan of West Chester – Seton Hall University
Michael J. McBride of Lafayette Hill – Loyola University Maryland
Sean P. McGeehan of King of Prussia – Temple University
Edward A. McGinley of Villanova – University of South Carolina (Honors)
Grant C. McKnight of Wayne – Northwestern University
John F. McSurdy of Collegeville – Loyola University Maryland
Franklin Miranda of West Chester – Penn State University
Kyle A. Mooney of Wayne – Northeastern University (Honors)
Shane L. Norris of Phoenixville – James Madison University
Erick V. O’Brien of Havertown –Mt. St. Mary’s University (Honors)
Richard P. O’Flynn of Media – University of Richmond
John F. Parkinson of Springfield – Temple University
Shyamal B. Patel of Norristown – Georgia Institute of Technology
Robert P. Pickell of Collegeville – Penn State University
August J. Piro of Downingtown – University of Minnesota
Fadee V. Rumman-Obeid of Collegeville – Tempe University
Maxwell S. Verna of Villanova – Temple University
Anthony F. Walker of Newtown Square – University of the Sciences
Andrew J. Welsh of Norristown – St. Joseph’s University
Keane H. White of Havertown – Indiana University